handlebars & brush guards

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2006, 03:32 PM
1st Gear Member
Default handlebars & brush guards

Would you guys who've already changed out your stock handlebars mind answering a few quesions?

1) How do I go about getting the throttle assembly off the stock handlebar? I've never done this before...
2) Can I reuse my stock grips, or do I have to cut them to get them off the old bar?
3) Does anyone out there know what the dimensions on the stock handlebar are? (The stock one fits me just fine and I'd like to order an aftermarket bar with similar dimensions. The only reason I want to change is so I can mount my Moose Racing brush guards.)

I appreciate any advice you guys can give me on changing out handlebars and mounting brush guards!

Bryan

Old 02-05-2006, 09:20 PM
Default RE: handlebars & brush guards

ORIGINAL: NavKLX

Would you guys who've already changed out your stock handlebars mind answering a few quesions?

1) How do I go about getting the throttle assembly off the stock handlebar? I've never done this before...
2) Can I reuse my stock grips, or do I have to cut them to get them off the old bar?
3) Does anyone out there know what the dimensions on the stock handlebar are? (The stock one fits me just fine and I'd like to order an aftermarket bar with similar dimensions. The only reason I want to change is so I can mount my Moose Racing brush guards.)

I appreciate any advice you guys can give me on changing out handlebars and mounting brush guards!

Bryan

1) Yes you have to cut off the grips and you will see the end piece on the throttle and that will be self explanitory
2) almost all aftermarket performance bars are 7/8ths
3) Im changing mine because the stock ones are weak and bend easy so I ordered pro tapers(CR version) you can also hack them down as
far as you need for your arm length.
4) when you put the throttle back on make sure you grease underneath the throttle tube.