Get together for FL ride (Croom, Hardrock, or Ocala NF)...

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2006, 12:45 AM
Default Get together for FL ride (Croom, Hardrock, or Ocala NF)...

Ladies and Gents in our FL-ish area,

Let's set a date and get together for a Croom or Hardrock park or Ocala NF ride in the next month or so, yes?!

Croom: http://www.dep.state.fl.us/gwt/guide...room_motor.htm
Hardrock: http://www.hardrockmx.com/
Ocala NF: http://www.fs.fed.us/r8/florida/

I'm up for Sep 23/24 or Oct 7/8.

I'm a noob offroad...and took the KLX to Croom last Sunday and beat the crap out of that new little engine (um, I think its broken in now [:-]), following an MX racer friend having a great time. Bouncing through the trees, sliding through the grease clay mud (I didn't think there was any of that in FL!) after it rained...exhausting good time. Man, I was sore all over for 2 days after that!

KLX did great, is still completely stock, didn't even break off a turn signal (I think I didn't ride hard enough then?!).

The great part for me: I rode up from Tampa comfortably on the highway, entered the park and took off mirrors and street riding overlay clothes to reveal my offroad gear (donated by a friend, thanks Mike!), swapped helmets (had the offroad helmet strapped to the back of the KLX on the way up), took some air out of the tires, rode the hell out of her in the pits and single trails until exhausted, added my street clothes back on, left the park, stopped at a gas station to pump the tires back up, hit the highway home. [&:]

Anyway, ready to go again. Let's get together, and include my MX racing buddy so he can roll his eyes even more as we all try to catch him on the trails. Sully, Marty, TheLord, others...ping here. I'm up for anywhere -- never ridden the Hardrock or the forest, one of us might want to be a GPS master if we do that.

Peace,

Charles

Old 09-08-2006, 12:56 AM
1st Gear Member
Default RE: Croom ride in FL (or Ocala NF)...

ORIGINAL: charleshmosesii