Fork springs, should I try?

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2010, 12:30 AM
1st Gear Member
Default Fork springs, should I try?

Hi everyone, It looks like I wont be riding much until spring now and I need stiffer fork springs so this winter is the perfect time. I am wondering if I should pay someone to install new springs or should I attempt it? I am a mechanic, but know nothing about working on motorcycle suspension. What's your opinion?
Also, I think I would like a small windshield. Do you guys that have a windshield you like? If so, what should I get?

Thanks for your help!
Jim...........

Old 12-01-2010, 12:32 AM
1st Gear Member
Talking

The service manual is posted here, do the springs your self.

I have a spitfire windshield and its fine. It may come off when its warmer out.

David

Old 12-01-2010, 01:36 AM
1st Gear Member

I'm sure there are some experts here and I have never had the fork on my 09 apart so I'm uneducated on it but are you sure you need to change, some times on other bikes I've had you could add a small amout of fork oil or go to a different wt. and make quite a change in the way the forks worked. On the 09 the forks can't be preloaded with air but I understand that the older models had a schrarer valve and you could try adding a half pound or so to each side to see if it was more to your liking, I never been one to preload my forks with air but I've seen it done. But like I said I have not been into any of the suspension on this bike so I can't help with that but I know from past experience that you can work with what you got.

Old 12-01-2010, 04:43 AM
1st Gear Member

I don't know, I am somewhat mechanically inclined and I didn't feel like tackling this one. I know of a great shop a few towns over that mostly works on racing bikes and off road bikes. I hauled my KLX over to them and they re-sprung and re-valved both my front and rear suspension. Made a huge difference in the bikes handling, feels way better now.