Fixing backfire with 2bros juice box

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2010, 01:55 PM
Default Fixing backfire with 2bros juice box

Hi guys, i'm new to this forum. I have had my KLX250S for a year now and had no problems...until i replaced the exhaust a couple of weeks ago. I fitted a Leo Vince 3X pipe, which is sweet. But, it's backfiring constantly when decelerating hard. It sounds great and pulls well but the explosions are a bit much!
I just fitted a 2bros juice box hoping it would fix it nice and easy but still got same problem. I'm not very tech savvy so would appreciate a few easy tips. Thanks

Old 12-05-2010, 09:26 PM
1st Gear Member
The biggest thing is air entering the pipe. If its getting in through the front it WILL backfire on decel. It could also be getting from the back which you can do nothing about. Adjustments to the carb such as a small change in idle speed or mixture could help as long as you are sure there is no fresh air entering the front of the pipe. You may have to live with it.

Cover the exhaust in the back with a rag and your hand. The bike should stall.
While its dying, listen for air leaking out at the connection and where the head pipe mounts to the block. If you get any leaks there,fix them first.

You could also try blocking the aspirator (smog) thing with a vacuum plug.

David

Last edited by David R; 12-05-2010 at 09:30 PM.
Old 12-05-2010, 10:56 PM
1st Gear Member

+1 on the air leakage. I had a problem with air getting around the slots on the far end of the head pipe where the silencer slips in. I used a lot of silicone, and put the clamp over the base of the slots. The silicone gets roasted and crusty the first time out, but it will still hold the seal.

Old 12-06-2010, 12:05 AM
1st Gear Member

When I added the slip-on pipe (FMF Powercore 4) before the rejet I got alot more popin on decel. Once the Dyno-jet kit was installed and the pilot air screw was adjusted it's almost all gone. But I also have no exhaust leaks either.