fan switch mod

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2010, 08:35 PM
1st Gear Member
Default fan switch mod

Hello KLXERS

Just wondering if anyone has detailed wiring instructions on how to bypass the thermal fan switch with a toggle switch on a 07KLX250.

Thanx

Old 08-01-2010, 08:59 PM
1st Gear Member
Location: In North Western Jersey, but from Jackson, WY Originally

Just wondering why you're looking for this? I have an 07 and even on 90+ degree days I've yet to even have my fan come on, bike doesn't really tend to run hot, especially if you do the free mods to loosen it up and open up the jetting a bit. Just wondering what the advantage is.

Bypassing should be straightforward and simple, just disconnect the thermal switch, put in a toggle, it should only be a 2 wire set up. so it'd be hard to go wrong on it. I recommend either solder and shrink wrap or using quality electrical connectors with plenty of dielectric grease to keep healthy connections.

Old 08-01-2010, 09:23 PM
1st Gear Member

The thermal switch is dead. I had my high temp light come on yesterday in slow traffic.
I would prefer to operate manually, if i know I'm getting into slow traffic i can just flick it on.Another reason i would like to have the switch is so i can easily test it to make sure its working. I found out the hard way the other day that it was not working.

Out of the thermal switch i have one wire i have disconnected that and tested it to ground and the fan works fine. You mentioned 2 wires,is there another existing wire i need to wire in or do i just hook up the toggle switch?

Thank you

Old 08-01-2010, 11:39 PM
1st Gear Member

Just connect wire you grounded (from the temp switch) to one side of the toggle switch, and battery negative (ground) to the other side. That way the fan is still wired through it's relay and protected by the same fuse. OR buy a new or used temp switch

Old 08-02-2010, 02:44 PM
1st Gear Member