Crankcase mod

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2007, 02:42 AM
1st Gear Member
Default Crankcase mod

Hello all!
I'm studying the different threads on the CC mod. I can see that there is two different ways of doing it: New hose with filter or Enlarge airbox hole. What is the difference between the two?

Old 12-27-2007, 04:24 AM
1st Gear Member
Default RE: Crankcase mod

Frog, go to this link and read away: http://www.KawasakiForums.com/m_229955/tm.htm

There'll be a test afterwards!

Old 12-27-2007, 02:00 PM
1st Gear Member

Frog, if you enlarge the hole and get water in the box, it will want to flow in the cc before it will drain out the box drain tube. If you have not removed the little fluid catch canister at the end of the air box drain line, it will not drain out at all. If you have removed the smog stuff, pipe it to the upper airbox port where the smog stuff went. It will look very clean. I have removed the smog valve at the head and place a block plate there, left the smog piping for the 'stock look' and 'tee-ed' the cc tube into that piping. Clean and simple. Here in the PNW, there is a lot of water and my bike has been flooded three times, and it sucked each time. Best of luck.

Old 12-27-2007, 02:21 PM
1st Gear Member

a16tony, I did'nt remove anything yet, I am just reading the different threads on that. Did you see a difference somehow? Is there any website or documents that gives results conserning that mod. And sorry to ask you this but can you explain me step by step what you did with the smog and the cc hose (reexplain a different way maybe...there is a little lack in my english comprehension!!! If you wish.)

Thanks to you and to all others for giving great explanations on the different subjects. Maybe giving you trouble sometimes because i'm new to dirtbikes, I have no knowledge of mechanics and my poor english. Thanks again and I appreciate you quick answers!

Old 12-27-2007, 02:28 PM
1st Gear Member

ORIGINAL: The frog