Cam timing, ignition timing, fuel

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-2011, 09:04 PM
TNC
1st Gear Member
Default Cam timing, ignition timing, fuel

I was going to tag this on to Marcelino's thread, but I thought it would be better for that thread to cover the mechanical installation issues instead of a discussion about the potential effects of cam timing.

After M's great coverage of this cam timing mod for the KLX, I've been mulling over the possible issues before jumping into this myself. I've had some experience with advanced cam timing on my 4X4. What does a stroked 350 (383) Chevy V8 have in common with a KLX motor?...quite a bit in many of the critical elements common in most 4-stroke engines. My 383 has an adjustable camshaft timing gear which allows 4 degrees of advance. That along with an aftermarket cam that has more advance contributes to increased performance. I also have an ignition system that allows for manipulating the ignition timing while driving. With this setup I can run unleaded regular without any damage.

Now, I'm no engineer or professionally trained engine tech. I'm like most here who were just more interested than most when it comes to learning and working on our machines. It even got me a couple of very decent part time jobs for many years working at a motorcycle shop, a car dealership, and even a bicycle shop while pursuing my full time career in an unrelated field. So if anyone has any corrections or input on my comments here...jump in.