To Big Bore, or not to Big Bore

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2007, 07:09 AM
Default To Big Bore, or not to Big Bore

So, I have spent countless hours pouring over all the different threads on what everyone
has done, wants to do, or did do but didnt work, to their bikes. And here is the question to
to end all, where does a guy draw the line? I know it is always a matter of personal preferance
(and financial means for that matter) but I am starting to wonder, keep up the mods, or accept
the KLX for what it is and get a second bike for the "hardcore" days when you are riding with
the guys that always bring their "A" game. I am 25, married and have a 2 year old and a 10
month old (....yeah) so I am pretty busy. That is kind of why I got a dual sport. I have always
had 2 stroke motocross bikes, and only motocross bikes, since I started riding at the age of
11 when I got my 1979 YZ80. I am a fairly advanced rider (although less ballse since other
people now depend on me to work and not be on crutches!) and I love the KLX for what it
is, but my riding buddies are all still single, still on 2 strokes or 450's, and kicking my ***!
I dont need to be as fast as I was on my CR250, but a little closer than I am now would
sure be nice.
To get to the point, I have noticed that several members have jumped ship, such as Mr. Nobrakes,
(thanks for the awsome posts btw, BIG HELP on several ocasions!) when he had wringed out every
last bit of power the KLX has to offer. I have a muzzy exhaust, modified airbox, klx300 carb kit,
and 13t front sproket. Much better, but do I want to big bore? Cams? and if I do is a pumper
a must, or can I jet the cvk where it will be useable (I know not as snappy)? As far as actually
doing the mods go, it's not a big deal for me on the labor aspect, I am a master certified auto
technition and have a very well equiped garage (nice excuse to get away from kids for a bit too!)
But $$$wise, is it worth it?