Another sprocket & Chain?

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2012, 04:54 PM
Default Another sprocket & Chain?

Ok before I get yelled at I did use the search function but I am more confused now then before. I am new to this dual sport riding and there are so many opnins out there. I have a 09 KLX250S, the current setup I have is 14T front and 48 rear. I am more then happy with the top end speed can do 70 with no problem. However I do not seem to have low end torque, I cant get the front wheel off the ground. I need a new chain so I've been told with a new chain comes new sprockets. SO what would you guys recommend for chain and sprocket combo to get me good torque and highway speed?

Old 09-19-2012, 05:09 PM
Da dirty moderator
1st Gear Member

Personally i like the 13/45 combo. Gave me plenty of woods capability and enough on the road to do 50-55 consistently. I stay off highways. The definition of dual sport might as well be compromise. Want better low end? gonna loose top end. Want better tires for dirt, really increase wear on the asphalt. Its all what your use for the bike is... My KLR is the multi tool bike fore me. I do everything with it. The klx is my single track dirt only bike. So im leaning way towards dirt bike than dual sport with mine.

Sunday: Rode KLR 100 miles to the allegheny national forest then bought passes and rode the ATV trails.
Name:  035.jpg
Views: 87
Size:  177.5 KB

Name:  038.jpg
Views: 119
Size:  157.3 KB

Old 09-19-2012, 05:10 PM
1st Gear Member

42/14=3
48/14=3.43
((3.43/3)-1)100=14.333% increase in your rpm

so...8,003 rpm at 65 mph for you already.... you can drop down to a 13t front without getting another chain....but, that is super aggressive...

48/13=3.692
((3.692/3)-1)100=23.067% increase in your rpm