General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

EX500 Makes Noise During Acceleration

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2006, 12:09 AM
Default EX500 Makes Noise During Acceleration

I have a 2003 EX500 (Ninja 500R) with 4,000 miles that makes a pinging/rattling/vibration type of sound when accelerating. Here is some additional information:

It seems to run fairly well at idle and while cruising, though I am new to biking and I may be accepting too much roughness out of a 2 cylinder.
If I put the bike up on its center stand, the engine runs fine at any speed. I also tried putting the bike into gear and occasionally using the rear brake to put a little load on the engine, but could not reproduce the sound.
The left spark plug has black deposits on it, the right plug looks great.
I recently cleaned the carbs because the bike was running very rough when I got it a month ago. The carbs were very clean.
I also adjusted the valves. They were a little tight, but not far off.
I have also replaced the plugs and the air filter.

Any ideas? I want to check the carb syncronization, but I am not sure from the Clymer book where I am supposed to connect the vacuum gauges.

Thanks for any suggestions.

-Jim

Old 09-24-2006, 01:08 AM
1st Gear Member
Default RE: EX500 Makes Noise During Acceleration

doing a carb sync would be very important in your case. The mercury gauges are usually more accurate. you need to hook the lines up to the top of the carbs where the other vacuum lines are normally hooked up. Don't hook the gauge lines into the drain nipples on the bottom of the carbs.

Old 09-24-2006, 01:23 AM