General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

04 zx636 idle/shift issues

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2008, 08:32 AM
1st Gear Member
Default 04 zx636 idle/shift issues

I am completely new to the bike world but I have been on camaro forums for help in the past with my car. I thought I would try and find a good bike forum and this forum is great! I've been reading posts for hours andI feel like I havelearned so much already, Glad to see a good bike forum.For all of us newbies it is very informitive, thank you. Now on to the issues...
I recently bought a 2004 zx636 that has been running fine for almost a month now until about 2 weeks ago. I fire up the bike and she is idling great in the garage, no issues at all, but as soon as I leave and make a stop at a stop sign or traffic light the bike will not hold its idle(about 1200 rpms). It drops down toabout 500 rpms,idles like a beast, and regardless ofgiving a it little rev to hopefully bring the idle back up it dies out. It does this pretty much constantly regardless of being warmed up or not.I'm definitely baffled by thisbut I think it could be related to the below issue.
I've noticed that when I have the bike fired up and idling in neutral, I can rev the throttle and feel the bike creep forward under its own power(not my feet on the ground accidentally rolling it). Similarly, I will shift into first and rev a little bit and can feel the bike pull itself backwards (once again not my feet on the ground doing making it roll). This problem does not seem to be a constant, and changes, but never for the better, when I make adjustments at the clutch lever. Leaving from work tonight the bike didn't start up immediately either, which was a first, and I thought that was a bit strange as well...