General Motorcycle Discussion Have some questions or information about riding that is not tech? Here you go!

Basic Rider Training Course

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2009, 05:00 AM
Default Basic Rider Training Course

I am new to riding, but ive spent some time with very experienced friends. I fully understand how to use my bike, i can get through gears well and i aced my permit test.
Has anyone here taken the beginner training course? Do you recommend it? Is it only for totally new riders with no experience? Should i look into taking the experience rider course instead?
Any advice on riders courses would be helpful.
Thanks!

Old 04-30-2009, 05:59 AM
1st Gear Member

Classes can really help if you're new to riding or not. In my state (Maryland) classes are required and a certificate of successful passage must be presented to the MVA to obtain a motorcycle license. You can get some good insight and tips on how to stay safe with motorcycle classes. I had been riding on and off road motorcycles for years and still got some good things out of classes.

Mike

Old 04-30-2009, 01:07 PM
1st Gear Member

Experience isn't knowlege. In a lot of cases the experienced but untrained rider can do a lot of wrong things but do them very well. He knows that he do them well. He doesn't know that they're the wrong things to do.

Getting through the gears and mastering the clutch is only the smallest part of being able to ride.

Can you ride repeated full lock figure eights with both feet up, using the clutch and rear brake to control the speed rather than the throttle? Do you know when to use the rear brake on its own and when to use both with the correct balance? Do you know how to best position a bike to see and be seen in traffic, and the way that you can lean with the bike, lean past it or lean away from the curve to optimise line or vision as circumstances dictate?