Strange wear on 351 big bore kit

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2016, 05:49 PM
1st Gear Member
Unhappy Strange wear on 351 big bore kit

I am soon going to be parting ways with my KLX so decided to try and return it to as stock a bike as possible recover what I can from my various upgrades. A mate of mine wanted the 351 kit for his KLX so I gave him my bike to remove it. Yesterday he showed me the piston and cylinder and pointed out some scuffing on the side of the piston. When we looked closer there is corresponding marking on the bore sleeve too.

You can see the scuffing on the piston under the rings.
Name:  2016-04-16%2012.51.08_zpsg5mm0jwo.jpg
Views: 972
Size:  154.5 KB

In the right light you can see where the piston has been rubbing on the sleeve and it has worn the cross hatching away altogether.
Name:  2016-04-16%2012.51.16_zpsbse7gg6w.jpg
Views: 1331
Size:  94.3 KB

To me this looks like there was a problem with my piston, but I'm no expert. Whatever the case, owners of 351 kits might want to keep an eye on this.

Old 04-16-2016, 07:33 PM
TNC
1st Gear Member

Wow!...that's on the side(s) that usually indicates rocking of the piston in the bore from too much clearance and/or serious wear. I know you have no reason to pursue it, but it would be good to know what the clearance in the bore to piston is at the points 90-degrees to the wear marks. If those are within proper spec, then it indicates the bore to piston clearance was set up properly at the time of boring. I'm not suggesting Bill didn't have the right clearance at the time of assembly, but it would be interesting to know those measurements. It would take inner and outer mic's for exact readings.