Stock jet questions and more

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2015, 05:43 PM
1st Gear Member
Default Stock jet questions and more

Hi all, I am still learning the ropes on these bikes and need help.
I have a 2009 klx250sf that is stock except for a loud muffler as far as I can tell. I yanked the carb off, will twist after cables disconnected in the future. I wanted to pull the jets to see what size they are and order larger to get rid of what I perceive as lean surge between 50 and 70 mph. 35 pilot and 128 main. Stock? Also, I pulled the needle and it has 5 grooves with an e clip in the middle one. Is that an oem needle? There were 2 washers on top of the e clip, why on top? Should they stay on top or be used to raise the needle? The needle in the manual shows no grooves in the picture I was looking at. I damaged the e clip so got one at the hardware store and put it one groove lower than middle(2nd up from bottom, should I leave it in the middle?). I ordered a 38 pilot and 130 main jet which were the next sizes up on the list of keihin jets at the LBS. I still have a stock air box and snorkel and am not planning to mod the bike further than sorting the carb out. I like my fuel economy(68-74mpg) but am annoyed at the lean surge and concerned an excessively lean F/A mix will kill my engine. Of course when it does die I want to go 351. And lastly, I live and ride at sea level, my idle mix screw was/is 2.5 turns open.

Thanks in advance, there is too much info when I tried the search function.

Attached Thumbnails Stock jet questions and more-image.jpg  

Last edited by snappster; 05-03-2015 at 06:12 PM.
Old 05-03-2015, 06:47 PM
1st Gear Member

That needle looks like the 0228 that comes in the DynoJet 2152 kit - So I would assume you have the 2152 kit installed. If so, it has been installed incorrectly using stage 2 parameters (128/3N w 3 turns out on fuel screw, removal of the snorkel.)