Chain and sprocket advice

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2015, 08:48 PM
1st Gear Member
Default Chain and sprocket advice

Its that time when the chain and sprockets are due for renewal.
Im just having a little trouble finding a set thats basicaly a like for like change.

Im not too interested in going up or down any teeth, the stock setup is perfectly fine for me.

Ive found two sets, are these something that would be compatible as well as a quality build?

KAWASAKI KLX 250 S TCF 2012 PBR / EK CHAIN & SPROCKETS KIT 520 PITCH O-RING | eBay

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Kawasaki-K...item5d464c5844

All help & advice is appreciated, thanks guys

Last edited by zl PINHEAD lz; 03-02-2015 at 08:51 PM.
Old 03-02-2015, 11:37 PM
1st Gear Member

The top link looks like a decent kit-just be aware that it uses a rivet link so you will need the tool to stake the master link. EK makes decent chains and I have no experience with PBR sprockets-probably ok.
The bottom link has JT products- I have used their sprockets for years. Also be aware that the kit listed is for a standard chain(not o-ring sealed) so it will wear MUCH faster compared to the oe sealed chain. Don't know if you have access to the Bikemaster line but I've used their chains with very good results. BikeMaster 520 BMOR Series O-Ring Chain - BikeBandit.com

Old 03-08-2015, 04:32 AM
1st Gear Member

Not sure if you still need suggestions but I just replaced all my junk. Sorry I can't give you any web sites because I ordered my parts at the dealer. I went with steel sprockets from Sunstar and a DID X ring chain. The chain was a 106 link and the gears looked like a carbon copy of the stockers. It all fit perfectly plus it's all smooth and quiet. If you need part numbers I could find them.

Old 03-08-2015, 11:58 AM
1st Gear Member