Off Topic A place to boldly go off topic. just about anything goes.

Public Affairs Office did an article on me

Old 02-21-2008, 11:43 PM
1st Gear Member
Default Public Affairs Office did an article on me

http://www.dvidshub.net/index.php?sc...p&id=14983

I fixed a phone for the Public Affairs Office. When theuser found out that I am a mechanic, sent to work on phone lines, he decided to to an article on me.

Old 02-22-2008, 12:05 AM
1st Gear Member
Default RE: Public Affairs Office did an article on me

Gotta Luv It!!

Mechanic Ensures Ramadi Communication

CAMP RAMADI, Iraq – These days, he may not be under a military vehicle repairing it, but he is helping in another way by laying the communication wire to keep Ramadi connected.

Spc. Robert Vickers, with Company C, 63rd Expeditionary Signal Battalion attached to Co. B, 1-3rd Brigade Troops Battalion, took on a new profession earlier this year in Iraq when he was approached to become a cable system installer and maintainer.

“At first I was mad because I am a mechanic and that’s all I know,” he said. “I’m enjoying it now, because I’ve learned a good marketable skill. At the moment, I am still cross training and learning something new everyday on the job.”

Vickers, 26, from Atlanta, Ga., had worked on cars for many years in the nearby area. The experience of working on cars with his dad when he was younger influenced his decision to become a mechanic for the Army.

“Being a mechanic is my life’s passion,” he said. “I’ve been doing it for 12 years now. First, I worked at the All Tune and Lube in Atlanta. After that, I was working as a mechanic at a Chevy dealer. All my training, like now was, on the job.”

Vickers may not be working on his life’s passion in Iraq, but he’s enjoying the experience in a new field regardless.