Off Topic A place to boldly go off topic. just about anything goes.

How not to clean a chain!

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2009, 01:15 AM
1st Gear Member
Default How not to clean a chain!

This is sad, but funny as well because it is so stupid! Do you think Gixxers have a way of making some people stupid? This was on a Gixxer forum.

I will start off by saying that I am a worthless squid rookie and I suck at everything in life.
I was about to go for a ride today and my chain was pretty nasty, so I put it up on the stands and got out the wd-40 and a rag. I started the bike, put it in gear and let it idle. I sprayed the chain down really well and I put the rag up to it and it got caught and took my hand with it through the rear sprocket. I had to have everything above my last joint amputated on my index, pointer and my ring finger on my right hand. Thankfully I am left handed. It was a stupid mistake on my part and now I will forever pay the price for it. Say what you will, flame away, I don't care. I have accepted it and I take full responsibility. I made a choice (not knowing any better) and I will live with the consequences for the rest of my life. I thought I would post this so that 1.) no one else ever makes this mistake and 2.) To show that you don't have to be riding for a bike to get you hurt.

Attached Thumbnails How not to clean a chain!-cimg0014.jpg  
Old 09-25-2009, 01:45 AM
1st Gear Member

Dang! But that hurt.

Old 09-25-2009, 05:58 AM
1st Gear Member

when things like this happen you don't feel a thing............ its later, that the pain sets in

Old 09-26-2009, 05:14 AM
1st Gear Member

Darwin awards much?

Old 09-26-2009, 11:58 PM
1st Gear Member

What a re re ...... apparently he doesn not work around heavy machinery all day either. Dude needs to be slapped across the face with a torque wrench for being a dumbass.

Old 09-27-2009, 12:03 AM
1st Gear Member

Originally Posted by Worlok14