1998 zx6 couple problems...

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-2009, 03:24 PM
1st Gear Member
Default 1998 zx6 couple problems...

so i was on this website about a month ago and posted a thread about the bike asking if i should pick it up for 300 dollers... it runs and has 18900 miles on it... i bought it... so when i got home like any guy would have done i sat there staring at it for hours... lol... (this is my first bike)... and i started playing with it... taking things off to make it look better painting and electrical stuff... but since this is my first bike im not very experienced with them... ive been working on cars for years but never bikes.... so its kinda new... anyways so heres the problems if someone can help me...

the battery: the guy i bought it from said its new and hes a friend so i dont think hes lieing, yet the battery will only stay charged for either 2 startes withen 10 min of eachother or it will just die if i leave it connected to the bike for about 2 or 3 min... but if i take the cables from the battery off the battery will stay charged so i dont think its the battery but what could be sucking so much power out of a fully charged battery i charge it for atleast 3 hours before i ride... it might help to let you know the brake light is constintly on even when im not on the break... and the back two turn signals do not work at all... and all of my turn signals do not work... but the two front turn signals light up they just dont blink if i turn the turn signals on... lol... nor does the gauges blink when i turn the signals on either... so im guessing its a wire somewere... duh but were?? and i checked the fuses there all fine...

other then that i took off the exhaust and am running straight from the header but it looks just like i threw a stubby exhaust kit on there.. but its 10X louder... i know you cant run straight header for long in a car without blowing the seals... will it mess the bike up also?