New Member Area New to KF? Stop in tell us about you.

New From Chilliwack, BC

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2012, 08:17 PM
1st Gear Member
Default New From Chilliwack, BC

Hey everyone,

I'm from Chilliwack, BC, Canada, home to some great riding trails and scenic drives. I recently purchased a 2011 Kawasaki KLX250S from a dealer here in town, got a great deal on it, brand new. It was the last one hanging around so they wanted to get rid of it. I've put almost 1000kms on it so far, but have had a couple issues with it. I haven't had it in for service yet because I'm not well-versed in the bike and I want to make sure I have the right information before I hand it off to somebody who I don't know/trust.

Hoping that I could get some help with a couple issues I have, I am actually an apprentice automotive technician but when it comes to bikes, it's all new to me.

First of all, have a lot of trouble on cold start. The bike has been sitting for a month now and it cranks and cranks and won't start. Fuel is on, choke on, everything is right but it just won't grab. Also, have an issue where between 5-7k RPM the bike makes a loud rattling sound, and it's definitely an internal noise, possibly from the head area of the engine. Obviously these are things someone would need to take a look at to diagnose, but I'm hoping perhaps for some insight as to whether or not these are a common issue or maybe someone has had similar problems. I'd like to arm myself with as much info as possible before handing my beloved bike over to the dealer's tech and crossing my fingers.

Thanks, all!

Old 12-26-2012, 08:46 PM
1st Gear Member

supra,
Welcome to the forums. By the way, you have a supra? I like those.