New Member Area New to KF? Stop in tell us about you.

New to bikes

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2010, 06:53 PM
Default New to bikes

Hows it going everybody, I'm 23, in the Air Force and I'm completely new to bikes. I'm currently statuined in Germany and we have some very nice roads to ride out here. I've been wanting a bike for years and i've finally decided to get one. I'm selling my 09 Civic EX and already ordered my first bike: 2010 ZX-6R. I should be taking my safety course the first week of April and hoping that New Jersey takes that to get my license. Regardless, I should be fully riding by the end of April. I cant wait. Any tips out there for new riders?

Old 03-20-2010, 08:30 PM
Your Humble Moderator/Admin
1st Gear Member

Welcome to the forums man! Glad to have you aboard. Just take it slow and ride withinn your skill level, don't show off, and gear up. The Safety course will help you gain the skills that you need, and of course experience will bring that all together.

Old 03-20-2010, 08:57 PM
Administrator
1st Gear Member

welcome to KF! a 600cc demands respect.

Old 03-23-2010, 02:43 AM
Administrator
1st Gear Member

Welcome to KF. Get comfy with the new toy and enjoy

Old 03-24-2010, 12:23 PM
1st Gear Member

Why do so many new riders think that a ZX 6R is a good starter bike? And why are so many of them from the millitary? Is it a macho thing?

Cancel your order and do a year on a 250. That way you'll learn to ride instead of just learning to stay alive.

Welcome anyway.

Rob

Old 03-25-2010, 08:16 AM

Oh yes, it's a military thing. Were all macho and pumped up on steroids. We all have a death wish too... Might wanna retract your statement, don't forget who's out there protecting your right to speak freely.