New Member Area New to KF? Stop in tell us about you.

Almost got my bike...

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2007, 06:31 AM
1st Gear Member
Default Almost got my bike...

Hey guys - I'm workin with someone to buy a 500R and the deal should be closed hopefully by middle next month. I have a few questions as I am a beginner. I've ridden before but not for a long long time and nothing as big as this. How do you know when u need to switch gears? I haven't operated a clutch in ages it seems like. I know the general principles but I am afraid of stalling out or doing something retarded. For example: Neutral, one shift down is first gear...so after first do I shift twice really quickly to get into 2nd (thus bypassing neutral) - or is my memory horrible? And the positive neutral finder? How exactly does that work? What is good, cheaper safety gear to start? This motorcycle market is HUGE and I am a lost kid in the mall...any help and tips would be greatly appreciated. I'm as excited as you can get for this!

Old 05-29-2007, 03:00 AM
1st Gear Member
Default RE: Almost got my bike...

First off practice, practice practice. Take the MSF course. When you first start riding, shift when the bike is ready. By this I mean, so it won't stall. Shift too soon it could stall. It takes time but will come naturally before you know it. Neutral. When you shift down to first, then speed up and are ready to shift to second, just give it a full shift. To get neutral give it a half shift. The positive neutral finder allows you to find neutral when you are slowing down to stop. Get a helmet, a jacket and gloves. boots are good idea too. But anything with a high top for your ankles is recommended. Most of all, have fun

Old 05-29-2007, 02:19 PM
1st Gear Member