Changed my first tire last night

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2014, 02:56 PM
1st Gear Member
Default Changed my first tire last night

So the Kawi has almost 45hundo miles on it now and I've used every last bit of tire it had. Finally swapped out the rear tire last night and man it was a friggn PITA! Totally doable and its not the worse thing I've done but holy crap, screw trying to fix a flat on the trail. I'm not new to tires or getting my hands dirty, I've been a mechanic for 8 years but man anyone else feel the same? I will say I used my "trail tools" to get the job done, the only part I cheated on was I used a torque wrench at the end and I used a 25 gallon drum with a fender cover as my work bench, def made things easier being able to work with the wheel and tire.

Luckily the front tire is a lot easier to deal with and I'd assume that is the one more likely to get a flat of some sort?

Old 03-12-2014, 03:13 PM
TNC
1st Gear Member

Tire changing is a funny thing. It's probably about 75% technique over tools in getting the job done. Don't get me wrong...the better the tire irons and aids, the easier the job. Still it's amazing to see a knowledgeable guy with a couple of those dinky tire levers in a cheap OEM tool kit actually get the job done. Unless you don't learn from your mistakes, it really does get easier the more you do it. Watching a good video of a knowledgeable guy performing a tire removal/install is a good place to start. Yeah, they make it look too easy, but watch carefully and listen to their directions.

When all else fails, huge tire spoons made for changing car and truck tires can help the uninformed or limp wristed...but...they can actually damage the tire bead and/or rim if used improperly. I love the big tire spoons for use at home in the shop. When you're careful you can install the stiffest multi-ply tires without getting a hernia or losing a finger.

Attached Thumbnails Changed my first tire last night-big-tire-irons.jpg