Kawasaki Forums

Kawasaki Forums (https://www.kawasakiforums.com/forum/)
-   KLX 250S (https://www.kawasakiforums.com/forum/klx-250s-71/)
-   -   Kx250 fork swap help! (https://www.kawasakiforums.com/forum/klx-250s-71/kx250-fork-swap-help-43321/)

bennythejet33 08-25-2015 04:24 AM

Kx250 fork swap help!

I have read the planet klx article a dozen times and still don't know exactly what to do/ need. I know the years of the tubes that fit in the stock triple clamps. I have a 2006 klx250s and found a clean pair of 94 kx250 forks. What do I need to mount the wheel, brake, and speedometer? I am new to all of those so thanks in advance for any help!

TNC 08-25-2015 01:29 PM

Did you get the front wheel, brake rotor, and brake caliper with the KX front fork?

bennythejet33 08-25-2015 01:40 PM

I have not bought them yet as I was not sure what all was needed. No, it is just the forks can I use everything from the klx? Will 91 kx forks fit? I found a rolling frame with good wheels and suspension as well for $175. Thanks again!

Brewster 08-25-2015 03:26 PM

If you want to use the KLX wheel, speedo and axel, you will need the axel adaptors described on HOW TO INSTALL KX-250 FORKS ON THE KLX-300

The brake and speedo will mount right up. You will have to check the fork spring length of the 2006 KLX 250 and compare that to the KLX300 fork springs to see if the fork spring spacers would be the same length. Do you already have fork springs for your weight?

The 91 KX forks should also fit with the added benefit that the triple clamps will also fit.

Ride on
Brewster

bennythejet33 08-25-2015 04:16 PM