Just need a bit of help...

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2012, 02:59 PM
1st Gear Member
1st Gear Member
Default Just need a bit of help...

First of all...Hey, I'm brand new to bikes but learning, slowly but surely.

The thing I need a little help or maybe a push or a shove on is DS gear. I'm really looking to get something that protects me adequately while not bending me over and... well, it's all bad from there.

I've been looking at the AFX 39 for a helmet and think that would do alright for me. I bought the bike mostly for commuting purposes but it'll see a bit of dirt here and there. I still need to get a jacket, pants, boots and gloves... Any recommendations?

Also, when is a good time to call the break in period over? I imagine that the manual is going way on the safe side at 1000 miles, or is this about right?

Thanks for all the knowledge so far (12 pages back so far),
Mike

Old 05-30-2012, 04:11 PM
1st Gear Member

Welcome!!!

My KLX250 break-in was done at around 30 miles or so. If you're past that already, it's too late to do it right.

Clothing depends heavily on where you live (temps/climate) and where you ride (on/off road). I can't make any recommendations except for what I have, and that's probably not going to fit your riding style/locale... You almost have to try something first, then see if you like it. I *thought* I'd like MX pants, so I bought them. They're "okay", but I'm now leaning towards over-the-boot pants now.

Best I can say is: get a good helmet, gloves, and jacket/pants with some sort of built-in protection.

Old 05-30-2012, 04:25 PM
Your Humble Moderator/Admin
1st Gear Member

Welcome to the forums. Just get a mid range motocross helmet and goggles, gloves, regular work boots, and pick up a Dual sport Jacket.

Old 05-30-2012, 04:27 PM
1st Gear Member

I'd consider both a street helmet and dirt helmet. I do mainly street riding so I bought a nice Shoei RF-1100 and an O'Neil Series 7 helmet for dirt ($80 from Cycle Gear).