Carb Removal

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2010, 08:08 PM
jxg
1st Gear Member
Default Carb Removal

ok, so i work with computers for a living, and for the life of me, haven't gotten a good search result yet that answers my question (so excuse me if I am being ignorant here).

Jet kit came in today, and the big question is, do i need to remove my tank to remove the carb to rejet, and is there a DIY pictoral somewhere (I did see the one on HMF sight, so maybe I just answered my own question, and that is yes)?

Old 05-28-2010, 08:48 PM
TNC
1st Gear Member

You'll have to pull the tank for sure. However, on my '06 I'm able to remove both throttle cables and a couple of other incidentals and just loosen the two boot clamps. I can then spin the carb a few degrees either way to the right side of the bike and access either the top or bottom...at least enough to remove jets or the slide. I agree with dan, change your pilot jet with your fuel screw being out that far.

Old 05-28-2010, 09:28 PM
1st Gear Member
Old 05-28-2010, 10:32 PM
1st Gear Member

Yup^!

Old 05-29-2010, 12:52 AM
1st Gear Member

Even mechanical people can fudge things up.

If the bike is dirty wash it no sense in clogging a clean carb with loose dirt.

Don't forget to unbolt the fuel shut off valve like I did. I got excited and ended up tearing a line, gas went everywhere.

If you can't get the diaphram back in (expanded) don't worry I got an easy solution. Put the carb back in without it get a shop vac and stuff it in the air box snorkle (leaky fit is better) you can also hold it near the snorkle. Turn the vac on it will suck the diaphram in and you can still move it around a bit. Took me 45min to figure that one out and 2 sec to fix it.

Old 05-29-2010, 06:16 PM
1st Gear Member

This is one reference I used. It's for an 06, but applies to an 09 if thats what you have.
https://www.kawasakiforums.com/forum...lx250s+exhaust
Good luck!

Old 05-30-2010, 05:21 AM
1st Gear Member