General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

took my bike apart

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2005, 02:23 AM
Default took my bike apart

Hi all, I'm new to bikes and to this forum.

98 zx7r, 25,000,
full service when i bought her last month
ran fine after service

I took my bike apart to clean it (when i didnt have a manual) and see what made this thing tick. Now when I start her, she runs rough, like there's missing or something. I didnt do anything outrageous, just took off the gas tank down to the carb, and the front face fairing. Tightened a loose cable nut, I think it was to the choke. Cleaned and reoiled the air filter. Anyone have any suggestions.

Tried to take it apart again and put what I corrected or didnt correct back like it was now the battery is dead from trying to start it without the air assembly on. What do I do now? Can u jump start a bike.

Mitch
98 zx7r
Culver City, CA

Old 12-28-2005, 04:37 AM
Super Moderator
Default RE: took my bike apart

If you applied to much oil to your air filter it my be choking the bike. Check it and see if there is oil in the box, if soo clean again and go easy on the oil.

Welcome to the forum bro.

Old 12-28-2005, 05:08 PM

Thanks notstock, I did check the air filter and there was some oil. Cleaned the box and vents and squeeze the remaining oil out. Battery is still dead. Can I use something else to start the bike or does it have to be the bike battery. No one seems to have them in stock in the la area.

Old 12-29-2005, 02:39 AM
Super Moderator

Its a 12 volt system jump it with your car or buy a batery charger. The charger is a good investment.

Old 12-29-2005, 09:59 AM
Administrator
1st Gear Member

ORIGINAL: cartandretti

Hi all, I'm new to bikes and to this forum.

98 zx7r, 25,000,
full service when i bought her last month
ran fine after service