Kawasaki Forums

Kawasaki Forums (https://www.kawasakiforums.com/forum/)
-   General Tech (https://www.kawasakiforums.com/forum/general-tech-9/)
-   -   No spark (https://www.kawasakiforums.com/forum/general-tech-9/no-spark-20831/)

batman 04-20-2008 10:38 PM

No spark

I got a 2000 ninja zx600 that was not running and needed to be put together. So i looked over the bike, all the wiring is decent looking, everything is connected that i can see but i have no spark. I pulled the plugs out and put them into the boot and cranked the motor, but i see no spark from the plugs. Can you check it this way like a car? I am new to bikes, but have worked on cars for years.

So i was wondering what comtrols the spark? Is there a control box, or computer of some sort, maybe a fues? I am still waiting for my shop manual to arrive.

any help would be greatly appreciated.
thanx

markmeinteil 04-20-2008 11:06 PM

RE: No spark

Though it could be many things, I once had a no-spark issue on an older Honda. Turned out to be the pick-up coil down at the crank that had gone bad. You can test the Ohm rating at the pick-up coil, but you have to know what resistance rating Kawasaki considers to be good. (Service manual would say.) Like I said, that's only one of many possibilities. There is an ignition control module for controlling spark, but I don't believe you would be able to test this yourself. Before doing anything though, keep it simple and check the obvious first. inspect your fuses, wiring, electrical connections etc.

For reference, you may want to post this in the ZX6 or general tech section instead of the DIY section to get more responses. DIY is for projects and how-to's. It is not really meant for technical help.

davehayward1 04-21-2008 01:05 AM

Afraid I can't help but I recommend you get aClymer Manual

They are excellent!

whitehendrix 04-21-2008 01:55 AM

yeah.. kinda like a car on troubleshooting..

can only be a few things on that bike.