General Motorcycle Discussion Have some questions or information about riding that is not tech? Here you go!

I am a total noob dumb a$$

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2006, 10:10 PM
DRH
Default I am a total noob dumb a$$

Well everyone keeps telling me that I will eventually drop the bike. And that sad day just came. Why didn't anybody tell me that it is much harder going slow? My first time ever in a parking lot didn't turn out so great. I had to make a slow sharp left turn from a stop, and I couldn't turn sharp enough. So instead of going over the curb and into the bushes I hit the breaks and dropped the bike at 1 mph. It broke the left turn signal and mirror off the bike. But what makes me feel worse is that about 20 people saw it happen. Including a cute girl in a car right next to me. When I got home I spent a half an hour doing nothing but slow turns in the street infront of my house, and I'm going to keep practicing that until I get very good at. Is there anything else I need to be aware of? If you guys have some advice about what to practice, or if you have had similar experiences, or even if you just want to call me a dumb ***, feel free to do so. I will take all input.

Old 02-17-2006, 10:24 PM
Default RE: I am a total noob dumb a$$

dumba$$... na, but, i bet it was damn funny. cept for you of course and, i feel your pain.

at stop lights don't put your feet down until you come to a complete stop... this helps to gain more control and confidence over your braking and balance and very low speeds.

remember at 1-2 mph... you really no longer need the rear brake and your feet can be off the pegs for an emergency or more balance... if your front wheel skids at that speed you or the bike is doing something wrong... or you shouldn't be trying to stop on an oil spot or riding in the snow.

Old 02-17-2006, 10:39 PM
Super Moderator