New Member Area New to KF? Stop in tell us about you.

Old 08-01-2005, 02:59 AM
Default Newbie

Hi everyone. Have a ZX-10R and have had it for about a year now, but I just started riding it this year. I'm from New York and I am a bit hesitant when I ride because some people don't know how to drive around here. My boyfriend is always telling me to be careful, watch the people around me, watch out for stuff in the road, etc. but he makes me a little scared. Has anyone taken a riding class and if you have do you find that it helped you ride better?

Old 08-01-2005, 03:05 AM
Default RE: Newbie

Welcome- i have been riding since i was 19 (28 now) and i just took the class this yr. I would have to say to take the class. It really helps alot. I learned alot.

Old 08-01-2005, 03:51 AM
Super Moderator

welcome to the forum. i would take the safety course if i were you. it would help you feel better about being on the road. and don't forget to gear up and ride safe.

Old 08-01-2005, 04:32 AM
1st Gear Member

Take the rider course. Then in about a year, take the experienced rider course. The beginner course is on little 250 somethings they provide. The experience course is on your own bike.

I have had bikes since I was 15. I'm 43 now. I took the beginner course about 15 years ago and took the experience class this year. You can never have too much knowledge about riding.

Just one observation though. Have you ever ridden before? The ZX-10R is a helluva first bike if it is your first. Please be careful. They can be a handful.

The one thing I always tell people is ride like the other people on the road can't see you. Make sure you are in their mirrors, stay out of blind spots.

Oh yea, welcome to the board.

Kevin

Old 08-01-2005, 07:52 AM

Take the MSF for sure!! Is this your boyfriends bike that your riding? That's a big starter bike for anyone! The course will show you how to be seen and a safe rider as well. Oh yeah, Welcome to the forums.

Old 08-01-2005, 06:27 PM