So this tensioner fiasco.....

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2014, 10:44 PM
1st Gear Member
Default So this tensioner fiasco.....

My new to me 2009 has "the rattle" at 5.5k rpms and it goes away around 6k. Wait, a little background first. I'm 19, my first bike was an XT250, it was stolen months after learning how to ride, a friend of mine let me pay off his 95 BMW r1100gs and weeks after getting it payed off the first gear failed and i was forced to sell it back and get this '09 KLX250s with 4100 miles, it now has 4500 miles and it is bone stock. I worked on the BMW for the year or so that i had it and i learned a lot, but I am still a novice mechanic at best. I have talked to my dad (harley rider dont shoot me) and he thinks since it is so new, theres nothing that can be wrong with it. I have let him hear the noise and he says thats just how kawasakis are, they have noisy valve trains. He is telling me to ignore the noise and ride it. The noise is not only annoying but unsettling to me. I brought up that it was a common problem and that there is a manual tensioner that solves it. He tells me that the cams and cam chain tolerances are different from second to second and that they make it an automatic tensioner for a reason. How much truth is there to that statement? Could i replace the tensioner with another auto tensioner? How often do you have to adjust the manual one, i would think that if you adjust it while it is hot, then they wont require adjustment all the time. I would think that if the chain was kept at the correct tension with no (slap) then it would only be susceptible to true over time chain wear, not accelerated (sloppy) wear. Any input from anyone would be helpful because i really love little red and i dont want to hurt her. Thank you so much, this forum has already been a great resource and a joy to be on!

This is exactly what my bike sounds like.

Old 06-30-2014, 11:35 PM
1st Gear Member