six loose rubber hoses?

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2015, 10:26 PM
1st Gear Member
Question six loose rubber hoses?

So i was washing my bike when i found three rubber hoses were loose. i inspected them and one of them had a dirty, clear cone looking plastic thing that said "UP" and it was attached to one of the hoses, at the end of the cone it had a clamp looking thing which makes me think it belongs attached to something or another hose. I took it out gave it a sniff and it smelled like gas. I checked and theyr'e apparently attached to the gas tank. Then i found a smaller rubber hose which im not sure where it leads to. after that i go to the other side of my bike and find two clear yellowish ones that are under a metal looking clip thats part of the fame. Im guessing these two clear ones belong here? Where do the other four go?are they supposed to be attached to something else? If anyone knows what they are or have any idea please let me know, keep in mind im a KLX noob and its my first bike, so i am still learning(:

six loose rubber hoses?-20150613_165448.jpg

six loose rubber hoses?-20150613_165519.jpg

six loose rubber hoses?-20150613_165139.jpg

six loose rubber hoses?-20150613_165201.jpg

~Thank You, Virus

Last edited by SocialVirus; 06-13-2015 at 10:28 PM.
Old 06-13-2015, 10:49 PM
1st Gear Member

WHY WOULD ANYONE CUT THOSE LINES?!?! They're extremely important to the operation of the bike... So weird that they are left hanging like that. You'll likely have to do a tear down on the bottom end of your engine to ensure that there wasn't any long term damage due to the vaccum resonance from the air switch pump and crank vent.

Kidding...

The big two matching ones are your gas tank vents and the clear tubes are your carb vents (look into a T-Mod for those if you do water crossings) I forget what the UP one is for, but its normal also. It'll prevent you from spilling gas all over your extremely hot exhaust system in the event you tip your bike.