New Rider

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2016, 02:46 PM
1st Gear Member
Default New Rider

What's going on everyone, I'm new to the dual sport riding scene and I just picked up a 2007 KLX250S with 2900 miles on it. I have put a little over 100 miles on her now and I am loving every minute of it, but I've got a few questions that I could use some help with. I've noticed that after a long ride and the bike has been running at temp for a while it starts to have a small oil leak. I thought it was coming from the drain plug but after taking off the skid plate and the front sprocket cover and cleaning all the chain grime and oil off I found that the leak was not coming from the drain plug and that it was coming from (i may be calling it the wrong thing but will post pictures) where the crank case meets the bottom end which is usually hidden by the front sprocket cover. If you look at the pictures the leak is coming from where the copper color meets the silver color right above the bottom qtip lol. I am not sure what weight oil the previous owner used but if I used a heavier weight oil could that help the leak or could this be a gasket issue? And only leaks when hot. Thanks for any info as I am new to this and could use some help.

Attached Thumbnails New Rider-20160724_141342_resized.jpg   New Rider-20160724_145859_resized.jpg   New Rider-20160724_150316_resized.jpg  
Old 07-25-2016, 06:52 PM
1st Gear Member

Look real close, which I really can't do in pictures, make sure it's not just some chain lube that will get a bit less viscous with higher temp from the engine. That is pretty much exactly where it would get slung from the chain.

Old 07-25-2016, 07:00 PM
1st Gear Member