New KLX250S owner

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2016, 10:28 AM
1st Gear Member
1st Gear Member
Default New KLX250S owner

Hi

I've had a 2008 KLX250 for nearly 2 weeks now. I'm not new to riding, been riding 18 years. Got the KLX as a commuter and weekend dirty fun bike. My other bike is a ZX-14 so yes it is from one extreme to the other. I chose a 250 as I am a dirt novice and want to practice with something placid. I liked the KLX because once I am happy with my off road skills, I can then get the 351 kit with out having to change bikes. That 'should' be enough for what I want it to do.

I picked up the KLX cheap as it had leaky left front fork and the usual niggles from a bike that hasn't been used often. It only had 8400kms on the clock.

So repairs so far?
Fork seals
Removed cheap LED auxillary lighting that did nothing but consume vital wattage that could go elsewhere.
Treated a few rust spots
Replaced front brake pads with EBC items, much better stopping power
Front calipers cleaned and de rusted
new chain and sprocket

So mods so far?
Snorkel removed
Delkalvic exhaust
Acerbis tank
Seat Concepts seat
Lowering links
Pirelli MT-90 AT tyres

Failed mods
Chinese powerbomb header

Mods to come
brackets to mount a top box
jet kit
Kreiger cam chain tensioner

Old 02-28-2016, 01:20 PM
1st Gear Member

Welcome, you've got a great looking bike.

I notice your rear turn signal is very close to the exhaust.
Happy trail makes a bracket to relocate them further back an up.

Enjoy the bike!

Originally Posted by Bluezr7
Hi