Is the KLX250 the biggest money-pit bike ever?

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2015, 03:12 PM
1st Gear Member
Default Is the KLX250 the biggest money-pit bike ever?

Have you owned any other bike that you modded less (from stock) and liked more? Has any other bike tempted you to tinker more than the KLX? Where does the spending end when it comes to overall satisfaction with this bike?
:-) :-(

Old 05-29-2015, 03:18 PM
1st Gear Member

I'm pretty new to the Dual sport scene, but the KLR's and DRZ's see a lot of love from their owners too, from what I can tell.

Old 05-29-2015, 04:29 PM
1st Gear Member

It all depends on the rider and what they want to get out of the bike. For me, I'm happy with just a slip-on, KDX snorkel and some other misc. farkle.

Old 05-29-2015, 06:30 PM
1st Gear Member

I just bought the dumb thing for my 15 yr old.. He's moved on to wrecking cars now.. I'm just pissed off about such lousy power coming from a DOHC, 4 valve, 250cc engine ( in stock form) and there being no data-backed remedy..

Old 05-30-2015, 12:17 AM
TNC
1st Gear Member

All motorcycles are money pits from what I've seen since riding and modding them since 1969. And I've loved just about every minute of it. Anyone who bemoans spending some money and time on their bikes just needs to take up knitting.

Old 05-30-2015, 02:13 AM
1st Gear Member
Default Mo money

I just dropped 157 bucks on another parts order.
Chain and some front and a 43T rear for hooligan days around town on my SF.
I would venture that much more money is spent on the average HD then we will ever spend on our little bikes.

Old 05-30-2015, 03:05 AM
1st Gear Member

Actually any cruiser or touring bike is a far greater money pit. A few pieces of chrome exceed the cost of about any one modification of the KLX. Accessory lights alone can run hundreds, then there are all the chrome highlights and even light bars on the tourers. They can blow away a tricked out KLX by a couple thousand pretty fast.