KLX 250 S newbie questions

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2015, 07:17 PM
1st Gear Member
Default KLX 250 S newbie questions

Hey I'm a newbie to motorcycles and I bought a 2014 KLX 250S as my first a few months ago. I did the 600 mile maintenance through the dealer and the odometer now reads about 1020 miles. I've recently noticed an odd noise from the chain or the front sprocket when the chain is in motion. I took a closer look and the chain looks fine, both cogs (sprockets) look fine, but I did notice that there is a piece of black plastic on top of the swing arm that the chain is cutting a groove into. Is this normal? A friend suggested that it might be a wear bar or some sort of protection for the swing arm, which makes sense, but I figured I'd better ask the forum and hopefully glean some knowledge from you.
Here's a picture:

Attached Thumbnails KLX 250 S newbie questions-wearbaronswingarm_large.jpg   KLX 250 S newbie questions-img_4800.jpg   KLX 250 S newbie questions-img_4801.jpg  

Last edited by mightythree; 07-26-2015 at 07:25 PM. Reason: add more pics
Old 07-26-2015, 07:25 PM
1st Gear Member

Originally Posted by mightythree
Hey I'm a newbie to motorcycles and I bought a 2014 KLX 250S as my first a few months ago. I did the 600 mile maintenance through the dealer and the odometer now reads about 1020 miles. I've recently noticed an odd noise from the chain or the front sprocket when the chain is in motion. I took a closer look and the chain looks fine, both cogs (sprockets) look fine, but I did notice that there is a piece of black plastic on top of the swing arm that the chain is cutting a groove into. Is this normal? A friend suggested that it might be a wear bar or some sort of protection for the swing arm, which makes sense, but I figured I'd better ask the forum and hopefully glean some knowledge from you.
Here's a picture:
From the pic it kinda looks like the chain is adjusted to tight.

Old 07-26-2015, 09:11 PM
1st Gear Member