Easiest way to assess engine damage from oil starvation

Search this Thread

Old 12-16-2015, 06:43 AM
1st Gear Member
Default Easiest way to assess engine damage from oil starvation

Hi all, I posted a while earlier in regards to me running my KLX350SF till it locked up with the oil light coming on.

I'm going to get a chance to break into the motor soon and I was hoping someone with experience could talk me through what the easiest way to assess the damage on the motor is?

The top end is coming apart for sure, and I suspect the cams/journals are going to be toast. I am anticipating a fresh head for the motor. I think the cylinder will be fairly easy to inspect as well once the head is off.

I'm wondering what I will need to do to assess the bottom end of the motor? Is it as simple as checking to see if everything moves and there is no up/down play on the rod bearing?

Any help is appreciated please and thanks, I'm pretty new to all this, but I'm excited to learn.

Old 12-16-2015, 02:47 PM
TNC
1st Gear Member