Big Als Blog

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2014, 05:08 AM
1st Gear Member
Default Big Als Blog

Since I'm a total scatter brain with my threads, pics I upload and other non sense I figured I'll just start a blog of my motorcycle learning curve and two wheeled adventures.

Just so everyone is up to speed my junk is a 12' KLX250S. I love cars and four wheeling, I'm a mechanic full time but recently got into bikes and I love it.

Anyway, my most recent purchase was the IMS tank off another inmate. Having recently re jetted my bike and added a slip on the fuel range took a crap.

I got the tank from FedEx yesterday and unboxed it...it was literally bran new and untouched! Even the parts kit was never opened.

The installation wasn't bad but man putting the plastics back on sucked. I wouldn't say the tank fits like crap but it sure as hell doesn't fit like a metal tank does. It took a lot of loosening of hardware, brackets and trial and error to get it dialed in. At the end it was totally worth it and I'm happy. It's funny because the tank came with a note stating the fuel capacity might be with in 7 percent of the advertised 3 gallons because the manufacturing of plastic tanks is difficult to do. I guess that might explain the fitment too!

Old 02-07-2014, 03:13 PM
1st Gear Member

good golly I need a new tank, filling up every 80 miles(2 days) is a PIA

Old 02-07-2014, 05:14 PM
1st Gear Member

my ims tank installation and fit was actually perfect....my only head scratching moment was the rubber bumper on the lower bolt of the fuel tank (near the airbox)....i realize i had to flip it over to make it fit and have everything align perfectly for the side plastics...if i install it without doing this, nothing aligned

Last edited by ahnh666; 02-07-2014 at 05:18 PM.
Old 02-08-2014, 09:01 PM
1st Gear Member

What's your range with the tank now? I'm hoping for 125 minimum.

Old 02-09-2014, 03:06 AM
1st Gear Member