Beginner's Questions

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2015, 04:26 AM
Default Beginner's Questions

Hey all,

I'm fairly new to motorcycles (I picked mine up last May) and I'm completely new to the kawi forums. That being said, you guys have a wealth of knowledge that I would love to tap into! I have a few noob-ish questions about my 2009 klx 250s.

1. Are these tires safe or would you replace them? The dry rotting scared me into ordering new tires, but I've had a few people say that they looked fine. What do you guys think?
Name:  gYBwGBu.jpg
Views: 4
Size:  660.2 KB

2. As I was going through my bike and checking the air filter, I noticed that the previous owner had replaced a missing air intake cover with a piece of tape. Will this negatively affect my klx in any way? Should I order the missing cover?
Name:  nnzxJ0J.jpg
Views: 5
Size:  582.2 KB

3. I noticed a build up of carbon, grit, rubber, dust, grindings etc. under a section of my chain. Is that a normal occurrence or is that a sign that something is wrong?
Name:  Rg3lFJd.jpg
Views: 5
Size:  337.6 KB

Again I'm here to learn. Any little bit of advice helps! Thanks!

-Jonfin (the new guy)

Last edited by Jonfin; 10-02-2015 at 01:18 PM.
Old 10-02-2015, 02:39 PM
1st Gear Member

1. Yes, replace that tire asap. It's dry rotted and cracked. It's not safe.

2. Looks like you can just remove that piece of tape. Most here run without the snorkle, so your perfectly fine like that. I would check your jetting by taking plug readings just to make sure. Looks like the PO taped it when washing the bike and didn't remove it all. I tape mine off when power washing.

3. Just looks like dirt build up and chain slide dust from the chain. Make sure the black plastic chain slide isn't worn through to the swingarm. Clean it good (chain & slide), then lube chain and keep an eye on it.

Last edited by Werloc; 10-02-2015 at 02:43 PM.
Old 10-02-2015, 03:06 PM
TNC
1st Gear Member