Kawasaki Mule Discuss the multi purpose Mule within.

Intermittent Mule Starting Issue

Old 05-31-2016, 06:56 PM
Default Intermittent Mule Starting Issue

Hello All, thanks for looking at my situation. I am new to the UTV world, but not small engines. Hoping you can help and I thank you in advance for your support / suggestions. My neighbor gave me his old 550 mule, which needed some TLC.

It is a late model 2003 or earlier Kawasaki Mule 550, not sure of the VIN as I cannot locate it, and they re-painted / powder-coated it. However I was able to get the right new parts as they matched the old ones.

* I have replaced the entire electrical chassis wire harness (headlights to tail light)
* Brand new battery
* new starter relay
* Still have the same voltage regulator - not sure if this has failed - may need to test resistance
* battery reads 12.8 volts
* start and solenoid work
* not sure about the Neutral Safety Switch - I pulled it, (light green wire from harness attached) - what appears to be drop of oil on tip.

After I take the battery tender off the Mule, turn the key it starts up just fine and runs well. After using it for sometime or letting it run, after I shut it off, it will not start again via the key. I turn the key and nothing, no clicking, dimming of lights, nothing. It is as something i is blocking the starter trigger wire. If I remove the starter relay and test for voltages I get 12 volts on 1 prong and about 1 volt or so from the starter trigger wire (red / black) - if I turn the key, that wire registers 12v. If I jump the blades and turn the key - it starts no problem / every time.

These steps also work, with the starter relay plugged in, if I turn the key and touch the metal top of the relay on the chassis , you will hear the starter clicking and engage and eventually it will start. I find this odd as it started this morning, cold with no issue.

Is it a bad brand new relay?
that I just got, a bad regulator
the NSS?