Kawasaki Jet Ski's One, Two & Three Passenger Jet Ski talk within here.

High Idle Problem - 1993 Kawasaki 750 SS

Old 09-26-2012, 08:41 PM
Default High Idle Problem - 1993 Kawasaki 750 SS

I've had this jet ski for about 3 weeks now. The first 4 runs were perfect! It ran very well with no issues.
On our 5th run, and about the 4th restart, the engine won't die down under about half speed. When I let go of the throttle, it just keeps going; fast enough to stay cruising on top of the water. I have to power down early and slowly coast in to the shore.

Under the hood I see that the throttle cable moves fluidly as I press the thumb throttle control on the steering column. There's no point where it hangs up that I can see. I took off the air intake from the top of the carb and see that the both metal flaps move smoothly when pressing the throttle and turning the choke off and on. I'm not experienced with carburetors so one thing I am wondering about is if the throttle flap should be fully closed when at idle or slightly open. Right now, it's slightly open at idle.

I've also tried adjusting the low engine speed on the right side of the carburetor and that had no affect at all. After starting up, the ski just revs up to the same level. The time I took it to the lake to test the low speed adjuster I took it out and around the lake. It runs just fine other then it just won't slow down. I can push the throttle and it speeds up to full speed with out hesitation. I ended up having fun on it for over 30 minutes and just had to be really careful when bringing it back to shore.

Can anyone help me out? I'm familiar enough with things to be able to follow instructions if someone is able to guide me along.
Thank you!

Old 09-27-2012, 07:18 AM
1st Gear Member